The Overhyped Women’s Day!

image

Every year we celebrate 8th march as the international women’s day. In different regions the focus of the celebrations ranges from general celebration of respect, appreciation, and love towards women to a celebration for women’s economic, political, and social achievements. In some regions this day has become an occasion for people to express their love for women. In India also we celebrate women’s day to a greater extent especially in offices.

I have always felt that women’s day is highly overrated everywhere. When we say we respect diversity, we think men and women are equal then celebrating a special day for women is of not justified. When a woman at a pivotal position is asked about her work life balance, I wonder why men (at the same position) aren’t asked the same question? I also get surprised to see that people always criticize house husbands (well this is very rare in India), or the husbands who support their working wives. I have seen people making fun of my friends who have always been supportive of their wives career. People mock at those husbands who relocate because their wife is moving to a new location. I wonder whether we really value the women around us, whether its home, college or office. I think the gender discrimination or bias is a global problem, not even developed countries like US haven’t yet achieved the balance.

I attended the women’s day celebration in my office and was happy to see some men contributing! The discussions revolved around speculating the reason for women not making it to the top. I somehow felt that the reasons discussed were stereotyped and couldn’t answer the main question. When I think of the sole reason that hinders the women’s growth to the top could be, not getting enough support from the family. I have always heard the interviews of Indira Nooyi, Chanda Kochchar, Sheryl Sandberg where they clearly say, we are here because of the immense support we get from our families.

All I want to say is, it isn’t bad to be ambitious. We should know what we exactly want from our career and our family. Most of the times I have met women who are always confused about their career. I have heard many of my friends saying my job choice depends on my husbands’ choice. Here, I would say, its important for the couple to understand amongst them who is doing a better job and then aligning the dreams accordingly. I remember my friend, who works for a reputed firm in US and has a house husband. She told me we wanted to start a family and so one of us had to stay back. I was earning more than my husband so he decided to quit the job and is helping me raise the kids.

So ladies…lets understand ourselves first and then I guess we are ready to take on the world. The world where we are not superior and nor inferior. Let’s not try to be like men, we are women and that’s the reason we should be!!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. So nicely explained, can’t agree more !

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome !

        Like

Leave a Reply

