Pinky!!!

image

Being a single child I have always had a close relationship with my cousins. They were my buddies who pulled my leg, made me cry, made me laugh and never made me feel that I was an only child. I have always enjoyed their company. Amongst all the cousins, I have always shared a special bond with Pinky. She is only two years elder than me so I guess the connection is obvious.

We both grew up in several cities, the only difference being I stayed with my parents and she stayed with almost all our relatives. That was the time when I got to know her more.

There are people who successfully lead their lives against all odds and say life is beautiful and there are people who fail to stand the pressure and decide to end the beautiful thing called life.

“We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.”
― Abraham Lincoln

Pinky is amongst the first kind of people who take lifesaver challenge and sail through it against all odds. Her father lost his mental balance due to some unknown reason, when she was hardly 4 years old. After her 7th grade She had to move from one school to other. This made her to loose interest in her studies leading to poor grades.

She got married at a mere age of 19, both due to the parental and societal pressure. Dressed up in a red saree she was dreaming of an ideal world she always wanted to live .A good looking husband, a well educated and rich family is what every girl dreams of. She didn’t know that the life was even tougher on the other side.Unfortunately, she had to face a moody and not so supportive husband and snobbish in laws. All her dreams were shattered, her life had come to stand still. But there was still something that made her going, her confidence and determination. She did a course in computer, graduated in Arts and took another degree in law and landed up in to a hefty paying job.

Whenever I meet her I always learn something new. She always has a smile on her face and an enthusiasm to do something better than yesterday. A hope that her daughter will have a good future. A certain satisfaction that she can handle anything and everything.

“Get going. Move forward. Aim High. Plan a takeoff. Don’t just sit on the runway and hope someone will come along and push the airplane. It simply won’t happen. Change your attitude and gain some altitude. Believe me, you’ll love it up here.”
― Donald J. Trump

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hats of to writer and Pinky too !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 really appreciate that..and coming from someone who writes amazing poems..it made my day!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We always underestimate us ! You are excellent in writing !

        Liked by 1 person

  2. nimitode says:

    Beautiful! 👌
    (Have you any interest in travel, aa jao yaar blog dekhlo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure!! I will 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

