Confessions of a Gossipaholic!!!

My Colleague, “Hey do you know that Mr. X and Ms. Y are dating. They make a great pair isn’t it. ”
Me: How do you know they are dating?? Did they tell you?
My colleague: Mr. X’s friends friend, who is supposedly my friend too saw them together while shopping in the P mall.
Me: Yeah they indeed make a good couple, though I don’t know whether they are dating
After a month or two….
Me: I heard things went worse with Mr. X and Ms. Y. Do you have any idea?
My colleague: I think so too, haven’t heard about them recently…I think they had a break up…due to some undisclosed reasons…and now I have heard Ms.Y is dating someone else …probably Mr.Z
Me: Really!? How do you know?
Everyone denies to be a Gossipaholic , but they certainly are involved in all sorts of gossips. Till now I heard only women are gossip mongers but that’s certainly not true. Gossip is irrespective of gender, caste, religion or age. From a kid of 8 years to someone who is 70, everyone loves to gossip.

My 8 years old nephew reached his pinnacle of gossip and rumour spreading qualities, when one of my friends wife visited our house. My nephew told his friends that she is the protagonist of one of the Hindi serials and will soon be working in a movie. His friends got excited and mobbed her. They asked for an autograph and a selfie too. I am sure she will never visit us again 😛
My 65 years old aunt called me at middle of night asking whether I know that one of my niece has a boyfriend.
So what are the typical type of gossip topics that people discuss…

1. Who is dating whom?

2. How well someone is doing in his/her job?

3. How is someone’s relationship with her mother in law?

4. How much Mr. A spent on his daughter’s/ son’s wedding?

5. Do you think that person is faithful to his/her spouse?

6. She just bought a diamond necklace, is it real!?

7. What’s cooking up in their family?

8. I heard they are having divorce!

9. Do you know Mr. A’s daughter eloped with Mr. B’s son?
Celebrities are most talked about in almost all gossip columns, from when will Ranbir Kapoor and Katrina get married, to whether Deepika removed her RK tattoo. From Alia bhatt’s recent affair to Salman Khan’s latest controversy.From Brad’s and Angelina’s latest adopted child to Kim’s latest affair. I remember I spend endless hours keeping up with these gossips.
In India various states have different gossip topics:

1. Delhi: What could be his/ her estimated worth??

2. Ahmedabad: Does he/she eat non-veg?

3. Pune: What was she doing at this hour of night?

4. Bangalore: Are they in a live in relationship??

I have had bad relationship with my cousins, friends, colleagues because of this quality. I had exposed my cousins’ smoking and drinking habits in front of my family members,  for which I still have a strained relationship with him.I remember there was a point when none of my friends trusted me. Every one else in my circle knew the secrets except me. I started feeling left out. I didn’t understand the reason as they would generalise it as being difficult to trust a female, and I being the only female in the group had to accept that. I was yet to learn a lesson, my rumour spreading qualities reached a pinnacle when I revealed Priya’s (my colleague’s) affair to her mother. Priya’s mother called me to ask the reason of her not getting married. I was complete oblivion to the fact that Priya’s mother had no idea about the existence of her boyfriend. I in the flow of  conversation revealed about Mayank, Priya’s boyfriend. That made Priya’s mother happy as she had a doubt about her daughter’s sexual orientation.

I know this isn’t a quality to boast of, I want to avoid it, but knowingly or unknowingly I fall in to its trap. These days I try to differentiate between harmless gossip and the gossip that hurts people, as I know I can’t avoid it completely. Human beings are social animals and gossiping is a natural tendency. So, I try to analyse the problem behind the gossip as sometimes people try to take revenge on people whom they are not in good terms with by spreading baseless rumours. If I am unable to solve the problem I atleast don’t try to spread it…so are you a Gossipaholic too?

So any news when is Salman Khan getting married??

21 Comments Add yours

  1. True ! We all are equally do gossips.
    Nice written , loved reading your gossips !

    Like

    1. Haha 🙂 generalised gossips

      Like

  2. Sid.Shidqi says:

    General rule for gossiping: make clear distinction between facts and assumptions. Then it’ll be safe to let everyone interpretation goes beyond the talk

    Liked by 1 person

  3. NJ says:

    Very well written and so true it is 🙂 However ..how much we deny ..all of us at sometime engage ourselves in gossips 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly that’s what I wanted to say!! Thank you for reading the blog and also following me. Let me know your opinion about other

      Liked by 1 person

      1. NJ says:

        Sure 🙂 I will read other blogs too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jaquline says:

    We all enjoy gossip… but as you said we should aware of harmless gossip and the gossip that hurts people. I mostly enjoy listening to gossips than spreading it :D. Nice blog… keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 for always reading !!

      Like

      1. Thanks for reading and following my blog 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ashish kumar says:

    Good post… Enjoyed reading it… good take on gossip and I think everyone gossips in his/her life. No one can live without talking and that talk may be realistic or imaginative… 🙂 well written… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading and your opinions are extremely important

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ashish kumar says:

        I enjoyed the post and will read your other posts soon… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks 🙂 sure..will love to hear from you!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Prakash joshi says:

    Ha ha… That was my wife.
    n those little bastards they were not afraid of even me..
    I saw myself being ragged my those small tiny hulliguns to the point that I had to protect my wife.. New generation God !

    Liked by 1 person

  7. haha..a life time experience!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

